Bad to the Bone

Following the bikers into the Spice Mill carpark

Before I knew it, I was surrounded.  Bikers everywhere.

On my way to Spice Mill for my regular weekend lunch, I had followed a group of motorbike riders; something I’d not seen before on the island.  By the time I reached the restaurant, the car park was brimming with tough, leather-clad dudes and dudettes.  And about 30 Harleys.

Tough looking dudes and chicks with a big commitment to bandanas were everywhere.  Racing them into the restaurant, I managed to nab a table and slip my order in before they did – I figured I was doomed to hunger otherwise.

For $20 each, they got to choose between a burger, fish burger or chook curry.  (Must have been the Biker Special ;-)).  The crowd started getting a little huffy: the food was pretty slow out of the kitchen.  It seemed one brave move to leave a roomful of bikers hungry.  The following week I found out that the cook had “walked”, creating pandemonium.  It just goes to show that the worst can happen at the worst of times.

I must say that they seemed a friendly and well-behaved crowd.  Maybe it’s just Hollywood and the bad seeds that give this crew a bad name.

After some sniffing around on the internet, I found this company offering bike cruises and, looking at the dates and destinations, it seems like this might have been the group spotted at Spice Mill for lunch.

There seem to be a lot of positives about cruising with your bike (and I thought for a few minutes what it would be like to actually own a Harley…) but this one was the clincher:

Where those ‘other’ bikes cruises do not have the authority to allow you to bring your own bikes, they seem to allow their guests to make fools of themselves whether in the dining room, pool deck, or elsewhere…. ETA wants our guests to truly enjoy their bike-cruising experience in a fun and relaxed atmosphere. Not to worry here…. no one will ‘bare’ themselves during dinner!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Bad to the Bone

  1. hehe good move getting your order in before they did! There’s a pie shop that is popular with bikies and they seemed to keep to themselves there although the image isn’t quite the same!

  2. Is that you in the photo, with the helmet on? I don’t think I would have had the guts to enter Spice Mill – I would have walked back home! You neglected to report what the meal you ordered was and whether it was any good.

Leave a Reply

