Counting on it

A child on a farm sees a plane fly overhead and dreams of a faraway place.  A traveler on the plane sees the farmhouse…and thinks of home.

– Carl Burns

It’s been so long now: 9 1/2 months.  Twice as long as I planned; the dream of a year off never quite taking flight.  Instead, I found myself thrust into another adventure altogether.  So blessed.

Since the day that I booked my ticket home, I’ve been doing a silent countdown, ticking off the passing weeks as each strode by.  I wouldn’t even allow myself to count out loud until I returned from Cuba, when suddenly it was just 6 weeks to go.  Then, my wonderful driver, David, and I began (he joined in my joy and anticipation as each day folded over in our shared calendar): 42 days till home.  33.  Just one more trip and then it’s 10 more days until…

I lamented to a friend that I have missed home terribly (he thought this blog never gave that away…really?).  I missed not the place, you understand; as much as I love Sydney, it was those who I love and not a place that has left me longing.  Mainly my mum and my dogs and the warm pleasure of being in my cosy house, sleeping in my own bed.  Of stretching out each weekend on the front verandah, meandering through the Herald, two loving collies at my feet.  The sounds of Lane Cove all about me.  Not a reggae beat to be heard.

I’ll spend just over 5 weeks in Sydney, and stop in New York and Washington DC on the way.  Catch-ups with friends and the Christmas menu are fast being settled.  After Australia Day, I return to the Caribbean, although I can only bring myself to commit to a fixed period.  As much as I hate the idea of leaving the project, I came for 3 months and so far have been here for nearly eight.  The open-ended transience of this life has at times been exhilarating; but at others been too much to bear.

As of today, the day I write, it’s just 7 days left.   QF 108.  9.35am on Tuesday 21 December.  The last few hundred metres of this marathon.  Almost time to exhale after a year of adventure.

Now, all of a sudden, it seems so very close I can almost reach out and touch it. 

Home.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Counting on it

  1. I know the feeling Karen. I’m sure you made the most of those 7 days! 😀 I hope the trip home was ok?

  2. Hope you’ve been enjoying the sounds & tastes & smells of Oz Karen. Looking forward to your next post.

Leave a Reply

