Middle of nowhere

“I looked at my atlas to see where you are.  [Silence]…St Kitts is in the middle of nowhere”

– Rita, mother and faithful dog-sitter

Indeed she is correct. 

St Kitts is in the group of islands on the right of the above map (double-click on it to enlarge), sweeping in a gentle arc on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean and the Caribbean Sea. It is almost the northern-most island in the “Eastern Caribbean” group of 8 nations just east of Puerto Rico, and north of  Trinidad and Venezuela.  Other nations are Grenada, Antigua & Barbuda, Anguilla, Montserrat, St Lucia, Dominica, and St Vincent & the Grenadines; my newest clients. 

While I don’t really feel like I’m in a remote place, pondering a map certainly emphasises how far away I really am here.  In fact, to get back to Australia, I have calculated that you need to spend around 23 hours in the air, let alone the connection times.  Nonetheless, there are direct flights to and from places like Miami, New York and London, so it really isn’t too difficult to return to civilisation if you need to.

I know I’ve been slack with reports – my adventures include starting at my new job, shopping, and of course eating.  I’ll try and get a few more posts done this weekend!

(Map credit: http://geology.com/world/caribbean-map.gif)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Middle of nowhere

  1. Mina Hanna

    Karen

    Have I ever told you how jealous I get when I read your posts?

    I’m sure I’ve mentioned it before?

Leave a Reply

