Greek goodies

My life-changing Bougatsa at Skiza. This is a "pie" with filo pastry, custard and syrup, covered in icing sugar and cinnamon. Mmmm.

Ok, I’ve felt the pressure and succumbed.  Not the least of which was from my good friend Kim, who has been at me to showcase the yummy Greek sweets on offer (she also taught me everything I know about blogging, by the way).  I guess this means I’m taking requests now, so if there’s anything you want to know about my destinations please just leave a comment, and of course I’ll have little food features from time to time.  Hey, I’m nothing if not responsive.

First, like the bakery guy, I have to mention that there is not yet the dazzling array of sweets that are usually available (next week will be better) but I have done my level best.

Mille Feuille from the Oia bakery. Think layers of light whipped cream between crisp flaky pastry. Not traditionally Greek, but the bakery often has a "special" and this was it one day.

Second, it’s important that you know that Greeks have a seriously sweet tooth so, like many countries in the Mediterranean, offer goodies worthy of writing home about.  You’ll probably be surprised to know that one of the Greek biscuits you most often think about (the yummy curved almond biscuit covered in icing sugar – the Kourambiedes) is not as prolific here as it is in Australia.  Baklava, on the other hand, is absolutely everywhere, in an assortment of different shapes, sizes and contents.  From what I can tell, Greeks don’t generally get stuck into their sweets after a heavy meal (unless it’s a small baklava or yoghurt with honey) and rather devour them with their coffee, which they often also drink sweet! 

Yiorgos from Skiza proudly presents: the First Galaktoboureko of the Season! (This looks the same inside as the bougatsa above)

Many sweets are regional (my mother has been begging me for the very same biscuits that I brought home in 2007 from the island of Spetses but, alas, they are only made there), and some are reserved for celebrations like Easter and Christmas.  (Yes, yes, I’ll be doing an Easter post so you can all check out the sweet Easter bread and roast lamb…)

Spoon sweet. I think this one is a chestnut

One yummy thing that we almost never see at home are “spoon sweets”, which are fruit like grapes or even nuts cooked in a syrup until they’re soft.  They are often just served straight (and are kept for hospitality in Greek households to offer to guests) but my best encounters with them are on top of ice cream or yogurt.  If you are curious, you can find these in places that stock Greek goodies, plus I have some in my pantry so feel free to nag me for a sample when I get back.

Another bakery special. Little sponge sandwiches, with cream centres and chocolate tops!

In the meantime, I have done my best to produce some photos of what’s on offer right now.  This includes personally begging the sensational cook at Skiza to make my galaktoboureko and the bougatsa, even though there are almost no tourists in sight and now feel I have to order a slice each day in order to justify my requests (you will, of course, appreciate that I have done this is for research purposes only).

So, I present to you:  Sweet Greek moments!

The bakery offers about 5 different types of baklava, all soaking up their syrupy goodness

Enjoy!

The bakery's wall is lined with baskets of biscuits in various shapes, sizes and flavours

Lots and lots of cookies at the bakery (I can't comment on their yumminess as I don't go for them)

After the fact

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Greek goodies

  1. it’s about time!!! finally, photos galore of tempting Greek yummies. That Mille Feuille looks devine. Are the kourambedes as good as the ones we tasted here?? The sponge sambos also look delicious. Probably their cream is delightfully fresh as opposed the mock shock cream we often get here.

    I await the Easter treats – sweets and the roast lamb.

    I have taught you well with blogging 🙂 the only thing is that your RSS feeds aren’t working still. And at last you are on Twitter….

Leave a Reply

